At Fledglings we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum. The EYFS is made up of three prime areas:

- Communication and Langauge

- Personal Social and Emotional Development

- Physical Development

It also includes four specific areas:




- Literacy

- Maths

- Understanding the World

- Expressive Art and Design





Our practitioners plan a range of high quality play activities to cover all areas of the EYFS.

Each child is set individual targets each half term on their play plan. A copy of each child's play plan is sent home each half term to enable parents and carers to work on the targets at home.

Children in the Sky room are introduces to reading and writing through phase 1 phonics activities. When they are ready, they start Read, Write Inc. sessions where they begin linking letters to sounds. This helps to prepare them for school. Read, Write Inc. is the method used in many of the local schools where our children transition to.






At Fledglings, we use Tapestry, the online learning journal, to collect photos, videos and observations of your child at nursery. We use this evidence, along with half termly narrative observations, to make termly assessments of each child.

We encourage parents to log in to their child's journal and contribute photos and observations from home. This enables us to get a full picture of every child's abilities. Parent's are given Tapestry log in details upon registration.



Use the button below to log in to your child's Tapestry journal.

Log into Tapesty: Online learning journal